Page 1 of 1
Posted: 15 Nov 2006, 02:16
Aeon
I've only been fiddling with Re-Volt for a week or two, and I'd like to look into, if not making my own, at least customizing existing ReVolt cars. (Building tracks seems like way too much work...)

Anyway, I have some experience modeling things in Blender, and I read somewhere that you could use that to make ReVolt cars. However, I have no idea how to make make something go from a Blender file to a prm file. Can someone give me some pointers?

Posted: 15 Nov 2006, 02:41
zagames
What formats can you export to from Blender?

.3ds, .ase, etc.

Later,
Zach

Posted: 15 Nov 2006, 10:26
BurnRubr
Use an export plugin and export to ase format.
Then you can use the available revolt ase tools.
The link below is for a blender ase exporter.
http://www.quake3bits.com/htm/tools_utilities.htm

Posted: 18 Nov 2006, 00:52
Aeon
Blender will import/export to .3ds files. (I'm not too familiar with the most recent version of Blender, since I've been using an older version for a while, and I just downloaded the latest one.) I downloaded the .ase script, but I haven't figured out how to make it work yet. Either way, its only an import script, so its a one-way trip to Blender.

Can anyone give me a brief overview of how to get files from .3ds format to .prm format? And at what point does the texture mapping get done? I know this has probably been asked a zillion times, but the forum search function sucks and I don't know where else to look. :P

I was about to say Lithium Unwrapper was the coolest program ever, until I realized that it only Imports PRM files... It doesn't export them... which is the dumbest thing ever! So yeah, anyone have a good way to go from 3ds --> PRM without using Zmodeler, which is supremely evil, and without having to pay for it? (ala UltimateUnwrapper)

Posted: 18 Nov 2006, 03:16
zagames