Page 1 of 1
Posted: 16 Feb 2017, 16:11
ElectricBee
Ugh, you're just reposting this stupid skins changer thing again aren't you?
Not entirely. This thread is meant to include more information, and to simplify the understanding of my idea without actually doing any code, pseudocode (since hey, I'm not a developer but I like to think about this kind of crap) or topic bloat with including extensive examples (because it would be an OP ten pages long otherwise).

Just because I know people won't bother to read to the end of this anyway, I'll skip ahead to the good and bad of my idea;

Intended solution results and potential issues
What this should do
The end result of this idea is to make it easy for people to author repaints and reparams, while at the same time allowing people to mix and match skins and performance to go for a look and feel the end-user is after. This implementation is intended to reduce the number of folders in ./cars so users can have a more manageable cars folder, with modifications being in the same folder as their target vehicle, making it so the game considers these repaints and reparams as dependent files requiring the original content, and allowing for users to keep content they wish to share separate from content for their personal collection or beta work.

For users to exercise their creativity and make things for what they have without interfering with the author's original work or appending onto it directly, the capability for a user to add their own files named independently from an author's work would provide a degree of separation between an authored creation and a end-user creation.

...And it can totally be submitted as an original work later with tweaks to the filenames so they're different from other works only available to the local user, and so people playing online could get it, too.

What problems this may cause