Page 1 of 1
Posted: 26 Jan 2006, 08:54
zatoichi
Well I'm new at this whole thing but i've been playing RV for a long time. I wanted to put my own rc car into revolt(Xray m18 18th scale rc) but all i was doing was reskinning the "cheerio's" model because it was the best thing i could find but it had no spoiler like mine does. I was hoping that i could find someone to help me make it and or point me in the right direction... i have read some of the posts on here so i dl'd zmod... but i have no idea how to use the darn'd thing... just hope that someone out there doesn know and is willing to help me out :D heres the very rough reskin of the car and an actual photo of my rc,thank you!

http://img88.imageshack.us/img88/5097/m ... age3lk.jpg

http://img88.imageshack.us/img88/2640/myrc7jw.jpg
(ps the pic my rc is a lil dark but i painted that body myself) ;)

Posted: 27 Jan 2006, 06:40
Manmountain
Have you tried to use the 'Race car kit' which includes a rear spoiler/wing ?
You can download it here : RACEKIT.zip

That would be a quicker and easier solution rather than starting to learn 3D modelling. ;)

Posted: 27 Jan 2006, 06:59
zatoichi
Oh cool thanks for bring'n that to my attention :D yeah i use art programs but the only 3d modeler i've used befor was milkshape... but for me it would be easier to have someone show rather than read a tut... but thank you i'll dl that car kit and give it a try plus i'll post the results :) thanks again!

Posted: 27 Jan 2006, 07:27
Manmountain
No problem, glad to help.

If you slighty adjust the bitmap of the bonet area of the car, where the spoiler is mapped you should get a nice effect that should look something similar to your real RC car.

To help with bitmap mapping on to prm/model files, I use the Texture Mesh Viewer utility, download it here : TMVfr

Posted: 27 Jan 2006, 08:51
zatoichi